By Far The Greatest Team

The football blog for fans of all clubs

Breaking news: Mesut Ozil nominated for PFA Premier League Player of Year award

The shortlists for the PFA Premier League Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year have been revealed, and Arsenal midfielder is among the nominees.

The German midfielder has been superb for the Gunners throughout the campaign, scoring six Premier League goals and assisting a further 18 from midfield. No other player in England’s top flight has created more than 11 goals.

Arsenal has took it to twiiter to congratulate Ozil:
Although a poor fom since the turn of the year has seen Arsenal slip out of contention for the Premier League title, Ozil has shown an impressive form with vital assists in important games against Leicester City, Tottenham Hotspur, and Manchester City helped Arsenal to invaluable points.

Leicester City duo Riyad Mahrez and Jamie Vardy are among the nominees. N’Golo Kante is the third player from the Foxes to be named, the midfielder having helped the club open up a seven-point gap at the summit.

Vardy has scored 21 goals this season, and broke the record for goal scoring in consecutive games earlier this season. No player has more combined goals and assists than Mahrez’s 27. Tottenham Hotspur striker Harry Kane – the Premier League’s top goal scorer this campaign – rounds off the list alongside West Ham’s Dimitri Payet.

Payet has scored nine goals and contributed eight assists in the Premier League to help his side do battle with the Manchester sides for a Champions League place.

Nominees in full:

Men’s PFA Players’ Player of the Year

Dimitri Payet (West Ham)
Harry Kane (Tottenham)
Jamie Vardy (Leicester)
Mesut Ozil (Arsenal)
N’Golo Kante (Leicester)
Riyad Mahrez (Leicester)
Men’s PFA Young Player of the Year

Dele Alli (Tottenham)
Harry Kane (Tottenham)
Jack Butland (Stoke)
Philippe Coutinho (Liverpool)
Romelu Lukaku (Everton)
Ross Barkley (Everton)
Women’s PFA Players’ Player of the Year

Beth Mead (Sunderland)
Gemma Davison (Chelsea)
Hedvig Lindahl (Chelsea)
Izzy Christiansen (Manchester City)
Ji So-Yun (Chelsea)
Women’s PFA Young Player of the Year

Beth Mead (Sunderland)
Danielle Carter (Arsenal)
Hannah Blundell (Chelsea)
Keira Walsh (Manchester City)
Nikita Parris (Manchester City)
The winners in each category will be announced on Sunday, April 24. Top of Form

Scroll to top